AN UNEXPECTED HOBBY 😜

Sasha Araki
2 min readJul 2, 2024

--

Today, I want to share something a bit unusual about myself — a hobby that might surprise you. While many of you know about my love for running, yoga, and painting, there’s another activity that I’ve grown to adore: birdwatching! 🐦

It all started a few months ago when I was feeling particularly stressed out from work. I needed a break, something completely different to clear my mind. One morning, I decided to take a walk through a nearby park, and I noticed a group of people with binoculars, enthusiastically pointing at the trees. Curious, I struck up a conversation with one of them and learned they were birdwatchers.

Intrigued, I borrowed a pair of binoculars and joined them for a bit. To my surprise, it was incredibly calming and fascinating. Watching these beautiful creatures in their natural habitat, listening to their songs, and identifying different species was like discovering a hidden world. It was the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Since then, birdwatching has become my little secret hobby. I even got myself a bird guidebook and started noting down the different species I spot. It’s amazing how much beauty and diversity there is right in our backyards if we just take a moment to look.

So next time you’re feeling overwhelmed, I highly recommend giving birdwatching a try. Grab a pair of binoculars, head to a local park, and see what you can discover. You might just find it as soothing and rewarding as I do.

Do you have any unusual hobbies? 🌼

P.S. For more behind-the-scenes moments and personal stories, check out my profile here 💖

--

--

Sasha Araki

Hi! I’m Sasha, a mental health advocate from Ukraine, now in America🌍 I strive to make mental health care accessible, balancing work with yoga and meditation✨